## ICAR-KVK, West Garo Hills celebrated "Mahila Kisan Diwas"

ICAR- Krishi Vigyan Kendra, Tura, West Garo Hills celebrated "Mahila Kisan Diwas" in Marapara village, Dalu Block of West Garo Hills, Meghalaya, as India was celebrating its first ever Women Farmers' Day on 15<sup>th</sup> October to recognize the invaluable contribution of women in agriculture and to establish their identity as farmers. The programme in Marapara was started with welcome address by Mr. A.S. Singh, SS & Head (I/C), who explained the main objectives and goals of "Mahila Kisan Diwas. He



made the rural women aware that though 80 percent of India's rural women were engaged in agriculture, still they were not recognized as farmers. Dr. Joyoshree M Bhattacharjee, SMS (Plant Pathology) gave a brief note on the importance of women empowerment and establishment of identity of women farmers so that they could expand their capacity to address inequality that exists in our society. Other KVK personnel; Mr. N. Arun Kumar Singh, Dr. Sagarika Borah, Virginia Thabah and Sunny De Bareh also addressed the gatherings and encouraged the women to become aware about their rights, opportunities and facilities provided by government. Ms Susana Ch. Momin, Secretary of women Chijimchina SHG expressed her gratitude and thankfulness towards KVK, West Garo Hills for their support to them and organizing the programme in their village. As a part of the programme, drawing competition was also organized among the participants and the best six women were awarded as winners. About 50 women farmers from different villages like Marapara, Rongbokgre, Sannengre, Norangre and Bagugre participated in the programme. The programme was ended with vote of thanks by Mrs Pronilla M Sangma, Govt weaving demonstrator and member of Multipurpose Weaving Industries, Marapara, West Garo Hills, Meghalaya.



Fig: Addressing the gatherings by KVK personnel



Fig: Speech by Ms Susana Ch. Momin



Fig: Participants of Drawing Competition



Fig: First prize winner (Mrs. Silche M Sangma)



Fig: All the prize winner of Drawing Competition